jfg - Editorial Board


JFG summary

Editor-in-Chief

Michel L. Lapidus, University of California, Riverside, USA
lapidus@math.ucr.edu

Managing Editors

Erin P. J. Pearse, California State Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo, USA
epearse@calpoly.edu

Machiel van Frankenhuijsen, Utah Valley University, Orem, USA
vanframa@uvu.edu

Yimin Xiao, Michigan State University, East Lansing, USA
xiaoyimi@stt.msu.edu

Editors

Erez Lieberman Aiden, Baylor College of Medicine and Rice University, Houston, USA
erez@erez.com
Space-filling curves, Hausdorff dimension, power laws, scalefree networks, fractals in nature

Michael Barnsley, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia
Michael.Barnsley@anu.edu.au
Topology and geometry of attractors and repellers of iterated function systems

Jean Bellissard, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA
jeanbel@math.gatech.edu
Fractal properties of spectral measures in quantum dynamics, anomalous transport and fractal exponents, noncommutative geometry (spectral triples, quantum metric spaces), analysis and Markov processes on fractals, metric geometry

Laurent Calvet, HEC Paris, France
laurent.calvet@edhec.edu
Economics, finance, and multifractal time series

Erik Christensen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
echris@math.ku.dk
Aspects of fractal geometry which relate to either operator algebras or noncommutative geometry

Marc-Olivier Coppens, University College London, UK
m.coppens@ucl.ac.uk
Applications of fractals to chemical engineering, chemistry, and statistical physics

Robert L. Devaney, Boston University, USA
bob@bu.edu
Complex dynamical systems (that is, complex dynamics and not complex systems)

Bertrand Duplantier, CEA/Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette, France
bertrand.duplantier@cea.fr
Fractals in statistical and theoretical physics, multifractal measures and scaling exponents, random fractals and SLE, self-avoiding random walks, Liouville and discrete quantum gravity

Kenneth Falconer, University of St Andrews, Scotland, UK
kjf@st-andrews.ac.uk
Self-similarity (broadly interpreted), iterated function systems, geometric measure theory and geometric properties of fractals, fractal and multifractal measures, fractal dimensions, random fractal constructions and fractal stochastic processes

Anton Gorodetski, University of California, Irvine, USA
asgor@math.uci.edu
Smooth dynamical systems, hyperbolic and partially hyperbolic dynamics, dynamically defined fractals and their properties, spectral theory of quasicrystals

Ben Hambly, University of Oxford, UK
hambly@maths.ox.ac.uk
Probability and stochastic processes, random fractals, analysis and diffusion on fractals

Michael Hochman, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
mhochman@math.huji.ac.il
Self-similar sets and measures, dimension and absolute continuity, projections and intersections; local theory of fractals, including tangent measures and scenery flow. Connections with additive combinatorics, ergodic theory, equidistribution

Stéphane Jaffard, Université Paris-Est Créteil Val de Marne, France
stephane.jaffard@u-pec.fr
Wavelets, harmonic analysis, Fourier series, self-similar functions, multifractal analysis, local regularity of functions and distributions, stochastic processes and fields, applications in signal processing

Svetlana Jitomirskaya, University of California, Irvine, USA
szhitomi@math.uci.edu
Ergodic Schrödinger operators and quasiperiodic cocycles

Davar Khoshnevisan, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA
davar@math.utah.edu
Random fractals and stochastic analysis of fractals; random fields and fractals

Jun Kigami, Kyoto University, Japan
kigami@i.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Analysis on fractals

Sarah Koch, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
kochsc@umich.edu
Complex dynamics (in one or several variables), Teichmüller theory, complex analysis

Peter Kuchment, Texas A&M University, College Station, USA
kuchment@math.tamu.edu
Quantum graphs, periodic media, photonic crystals

Ka-Sing Lau, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
kslau@math.cuhk.edu.hk
Functional analysis, harmonic analysis, fractal geometry and analysis on fractals, geometric measure theory

Russell Lyons, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA
rdlyons@indiana.edu
Probability, graphs, harmonic analysis, geometric group theory

Nikolai Makarov, Caltech, Pasadena, USA
makarov@caltech.edu
Fractals in complex analysis

Matilde Marcolli, Caltech, Pasadena, USA
matilde@caltech.edu
Fractal geometry and its relations to mathematical physics, especially statistical mechanics, quantum theory, and noncommutative geometry, and relations to number theory and arithmetic geometry

Pertti Mattila, University of Helsinki, Finland
pertti.mattila@helsinki.fi
Geometric measure theory, Hausdorff, box counting and packing dimensions, geometric properties of fractals

Volodymyr Nekrashevych, Texas A&M University, College Station, USA
nekrash@math.tamu.edu
Self-similarity (broadly interpreted), iterated functions systems; dynamical systems, including complex dynamics and symbolic dynamics; operator algebras and noncommutative fractal geometry; self-similar groups and finite automata, quasicrystals, non-archimedean analysis

Mark Pollicott, University of Warwick, Coventry, UK
mpollic@maths.warwick.ac.uk
Ergodic theory, dynamical dystems, thermodynamic formalism

Bernard Sapoval, École Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France
bernard.sapoval@polytechnique.edu
Fractals in physics (diffusion, percolation, fractal resonators, localization), chemistry and physiological problems

Pablo Shmerkin, Universidad Torcuato Di Tella, Buenos Aires, Argentina
pshmerkin@utdt.edu
Geometric properties of (random and deterministic) fractals of dynamical, arithmetic and combinatorial origin. Combinatorial problems in fractal geometry (Kakeya-type sets, etc). Applications of fractal geometry in ergodic theory and analysis. Self-affine sets and thermodynamic formalism.

Robert S. Strichartz, Cornell University, Ithaca, USA
str@math.cornell.edu
Differential equations on fractals, Fourier transforms of fractal measures, exponential bases for fractal measures, fractal tilings

Alexander Teplyaev, University of Connecticut, Storrs, USA
alexander.teplyaev@uconn.edu
Probability theory and stochastic processes, Dirichlet forms, heat kernels, spectral theory, products of random matrices, self-similarity and stochastic self-similarity, mathematical physics on fractal and other non-smooth spaces

Jeremy Tyson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
tyson@math.uiuc.edu
Analysis in metric measure spaces, geometric function theory, sub-Riemannian geometry, iterated function systems

Mariusz Urbanski, University of North Texas, Denton, USA
mariusz.urbanski@unt.edu
Complex dynamics; conformal dynamics, iterated function systems, particularly conformal and similarities

Yang Wang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
yangwang@ust.hk
Iterated function systems and anything related to tiling

Martina Zähle, University of Jena, Germany
martina.zaehle@uni-jena.de
Geometry and analysis on fractals, including curvature and geometric integration theory, (S)PDE in metric measure spaces, and their relationships to dynamical systems, potential theory and spectral analysis; stochastic analysis for fractal processes in Euclidean spaces, pathwise approaches via fractional calculus